Accent Reduction for Professionals

Accent reduction classes are designed for students who are proficient in most aspects of English (reading, vocabulary, and listening comprehension) but who sometimes avoid speaking with Americans because they fear being misunderstood due to their foreign accents or pronunciation errors. In order to determine your particular areas of difficulty in speaking  or reading aloud, we will begin with a diagnostic evaluation of your spoken English and then proceed to learn the consonants, vowels, diphthongs, and the tricky clusters and combinations that typically do not occur in other languages–like /sh/, /ch/, /th/, /zh/, /ft/, /str/, /ng/, to name just a few! We will also work on stress, phrasing, speed, and intonation, all of which make the “music” and rhythm of American English.

Through oral exercises, reading aloud, mini-presentations and lively, interactive discussions, we will practice realistic language situations with the emphasis on speaking clearly and building self-confidence so that you can fully participate in conversations whenever and wherever you choose.

Online component with a focus on specific profession available.

Come join us, and lose your accent!

Classes size: 12 students max.

Total hours: 30+

Weekdays Saturdays
Days Once a week* & Online Component (required: 3hrs/week)
Saturdays & Online Component (required: 3hrs/week)
Time 7:00PM – 10:00PM 9:00AM to 12:00PM
Weeks 10 10
Price $499 $499
 *Exact days depend on availability/registration.

 

Registration and Placement Test Dates
Spring 2017
Tue. Apr. 11, 2017 – 6:30 PM
Thu. Apr 13, 2017 – 6:30 PM
Sat. Apr. 15, 2017 – 10:00 AM
Summer 2017
Tue. Jul. 11, 2017 – 6:30 PM
Thu. Jul. 13, 2017 – 6:30 PM
Sat. Jul. 15, 2017 – 10:00 AM
Fall 2017 Tue. Oct. 3, 2017 – 6:30 PM
Thu. Oct. 5, 2017 – 6:30 PM
Sat. Oct. 7, 2017 – 10:00 AM
Winter 2018
Tue. Jan. 9, 2018 – 6:30 PM
Thu. Jan. 11, 2018 – 6:30 PM
Sat. Jan. 13, 2018 – 10:00 AM

Notes:
  • This program is available to all citizens, residents, and persons with US work visas.
  • Dates, tuition, and fees subject to change without notice.
  • Company and group rates available.

Click here to APPLY NOW